The Excellency of Rarebit

They had just ordered, it seemed, and Richard went away to the back premises to command another portion of Bidlington rarebit. “It is a cheese affair,” Desterro said, “but not those Welsh things you get in London teashops. It is a very rich cheese sauce on very soft buttery toast, and it is flavoured with odd things like nutmeg—I think it is nutmeg—and things like that, and it tastes divine.”

Josephine Tey, Miss Pym Disposes

The cozy mystery from which my recipe comes this month takes place in summer, not winter; however, the first time I had rarebit (or the first time I remember having it) was on Christmas Eve, and ever since then it has seemed a festive dish to me.

This was supposed to be my November recipe but, as you see, it is nearing the end of December and here we are. I think I will retire Crumbs between the Pages soon. It’s been fun, but I feel I no longer have enough time to dedicate to my posts. I have one more recipe planned (which should have been my December recipe, but will probably go up sometime in January), and after that my presence here will be spotty at best.

The ladies’ book club at my church recently read Miss Pym Disposes. It was my mother’s pick. There are actually very few books or authors I have refused to read on the principle that someone has recommended them to me, but Josephine Tey is one of those authors. I don’t know why, because I loved Miss Pym. Anyhow, we discussed this story at book club and there was quite a spirited putting-forth of opinions. Many of the ladies ranked the book low because *SPOILER ALERT* justice wasn’t served in the end. But my mom made the point that that’s the point. It makes you thirst for justice. *END OF SPOILER*

We also discussed the book’s curious title: Miss Pym Disposes. The word disposes in this case means “determine the course of events” (New Oxford American Dictionary), as in the proverb, “Man proposes, but God disposes.” (Which is a paraphrase of Proverbs 19:25, “Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the LORD’s will that prevails.”) The point of the book was that it is not man’s job to dispose, and that when we try to, justice is not served and someone (or many someones) end up hurt.

Food does not feature prominently in this book. My choices were pretty much beans, crumpets, or rarebit. And I must confess that I made a Welsh rarebit, not a Bidlington rarebit. Out of curiosity I Googled “Bidlington rarebit” and got five hits, all of which were this quote. I could have winged it, I suppose, but I had no nutmeg. So, Welsh rarebit it is!

On a winter evening, it would be lovely to curl up by a crackling fire with a cozy mystery and a plate of Welsh rarebit.

Leave a comment